Easily convert MIDIs with Pistonsoft

convertButtonToday I found a nice piece of software to convert my MIDIs to MP3s. It is called Direct MIDI to MP3 by Pistonsoft. (http://www.pistonsoft.com) Other solutions I looked at required a real-time conversion but not Pistonsoft’s solution. You can also batch convert your files. I found this software very easy to use and converted files quickly.

The process:

  1. drag your midi files to the converter window (limit of 5 with the trial version)
  2. click the Convert button
  3. choose a folder to output files
  4. (optional) choose audio output settings
  5. press the Start button

Here is a short video I made to show you how it works.

Direct MIDI to MP3 comes with a 30 day trial and costs $29.95 to purchase. However, if you promote the software on your website or blog (see the Pistonsoft site for details) they will send you a free key to register your software.

Why convert MIDIs?

Well I am using a program called Rpgmaker VX to create a game and for some reason (probably some Windows update) the software no longer plays MIDI files. Rpgmaker, however, would play MP3s just fine. By using Direct MIDI to MP3 I was able to convert my MIDIs to MP3 and place them back into my game. This also guarantees that the music will play fine on different computers.

Leave a Reply

